South Dakota Focus: Energy and Climate Change

SD Focus - 09/09/2010

South Dakota Focus: Energy and Climate Change

On SDPB's 2010 Season Premiere of South Dakota Focus with host Stephanie Rissler we take a closer look at Energy and Climate Change. While there is debate over whether global warming is happening and to what level  some say there is no time to wait for the debate to be settled because action to save our planet needs to start now. Our guests will talk about legislation at the federal and state level aimed at creating cleaner energy, creating more jobs and in the end saving our planet. We'll also hear from our state climatologist who will give us the historical look at weather cycles and what scientists are trying to focus on as the world debates a climate crisis. Guests will include:

Matthew McGovern State Director of RePower South Dakota

Commissioner Gary Hanson with the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission

Dr. Dennis Todey - State Climatologist and Associate Professor with the Ag and Biosystems Engineering Department at SDSU.

Matthew McLarty - Policy advocate with Environmental law and Policy Center

Steve Wegman - SD Wind Energy Association

 For more information on our guests or the organizations they represent:

 Matthew McGovern - RePower South Dakota

 RePower America

 South Dakota Web link:

 Gary Hanson - Public Utilities Commissioner

Web link:

Public Utilities Commission
Capitol Building, 1st floor
500 E. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-5070

Phone Numbers:


Routine Business
Warehouse Division
Consumer Affairs

(605) 773-3201
(605) 773-5280
(800) 332-1782


 Dr. Dennis Todey - State Climatologist,

Assoc. Professor SDSU

 Web link:


Dr. Dennis Todey
South Dakota State Climatology/Associate Professor
South Dakota State Climate Office
SAE 213 Box 2120
South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007
Phone: (605) 688-5141

 Matthew McLarty - Environmental Law and Policy Center

 Web link:

 South Dakota related web link:

 South Dakota Office:
Environmental Law & Policy Center
311 South Phillips Ave, Suite 202
Sioux Falls, SD 57104-6465
Phone: 605-274-7060

 Via phone: Steve Wegman - SD Wind Energy Association

 Steve Wegman, Executive Director

South Dakota Wind Energy Association

300 East Capitol Ave.

Pierre, SD  57501

605 295 1221


Click here to play Real Media:
View video
Get the Flash Player to see this video.